Copying Recordings

daddybear

Good Afternoon All

Please can I have some advice?

I have a HDR-2000T box which is now 6 years old. It is (fingers crossed!! ) working OK at the moment, but in view of it's age I wonder whether I should be considering a newer model soon and hence my questions:-

Can the existing video files be copied to an external HDD via USB and how do I do it? I have a little under half of the internal storage of 500GB used now on the 2000T.

Does an external HDD have to be empty before starting or can the recordings go into a separate folder on the device ? (Not sure I know how to do that anyway ?! ).

If I did all that then got a new model (? FVP-5000T), is it then possible to put the recordings into the new box or can they only then be watched direct from the external device ?

Sorry about so many questions, but I am a novice to these sorts of things - but can usually follow instructions.

Hope someone can help me.

Regards,

Roy.

You can save standard definition (SD often rewritten on this site as StDef or StdDef to avoid confusion) without any problems to an external USB connected HDD. It is likely to be a slow process. High definition (HD or HiDef) files cannot be moved successfully without using Foxy or something similar. You could have a look at the AutoFoxy thread within the 1800/2000T forum or find the Foxy program within one of the Fox-T2 forums. If you apply the Foxy program to the HiDef programmes these should copy to your USB drive.

To copy to USB. Press media on remote. Find the files you want to copy and press the red button to select them. Press opt+. Select the USB drive. If you press red the files will be placed in the root folder of the drive. If you press OK you can select a folder or create a new one to move the files into.