Custom Firmware.

Gerrymac

Hi, A newbie here so go easy lol...
I eventually got my HDR-FOX T2 Box connected to my Home Network with the help from the guys over on My Humax Forum.It is connected wirelessly.
I have been reading on here about the CF and would want to know if I go ahead with installing it will it allow me to d/load,say an open source media player on the browser to view content?
I have d/loaded the CF to my PC that is current with my Box..I,m using W10 but this tells me "What App would you like to open this"..Do I just extract this file (HDR_FOX_T2_upgrade.hd) and then copy to a USB Stick?
I have viewed the Help Videos but I,m unsure at the part of "Packages" and which to choose.I will however,have another look to try and understand all.

Any help would be appreciated..

We have an entire forum section for the Custom Firmware, and this isn't it. (Update: now moved.)

https://hummy.tv/forum/forums/hd-hdr-fox-t2-customised-firmware.28/

I have been reading on here about the CF and would want to know if I go ahead with installing it will it allow me to d/load,say an open source media player on the browser to view content?
No. The processing power and memory are inadequate, and there is no direct access from third-party code to the AV outputs.

Any help would be appreciated..
It's all here (installation process): Quick Guide to Custom Firmware (click)

As far as choice of packages are concerned, it's a question of what functionality you want to add - but I say take it easy, at least to start with. Simply completing the installation provides web management (Web Interface - WebIF).

Preventing External Events from Disturbing the CF (click)

Decryption Guide

Basic config (now included in the Quick Guide to Custom Firmware)

NEW READERS START HERE (click)

Newbies' Guide to the Forum (click)

Last edited: