Functionality questions and general advice

autolycus

I've been frustrated trying to find a new 50" TV with a decent EPG, so i wondered if this receiver might be the answer. I hope these questions are sensible as i'm not a techie - i just want to buy a new traditional TV set.

Would it work OK with a 4K TV?
Would it allow the TV to upscale i.e 'pass-through' SD and HD TV broadcasts?

How do the 'favourites' work? I remember excellent functionality on the PVR 9200T. You could set your favourites and whenever you opened the EPG, you got just your favourites unless you switched to the full EPG. No-one seems to have this function nowadays. (Unfortunately neither does my HDR Foxsat which just gives you a list with no programme information). I suppose a work-around could be simply to delete the channels that i rarely use, but that would not be ideal.

I may be chasing rainbows here, so i'd appreciate any constructive comments as well as answers to the questions (provided they make sense!).

Many thanks

Would it work OK with a 4K TV?
Yes. It would be a very niche TV maker that restricted their HDMI inputs to 4K only!

No. You have to choose what format you want on the HDMI output, although you can switch it with the VFORMAT button. Options are 1080p/i, 720p, 576p. Thus the HD-FOX up- or down-scales the broadcast appropriately on the HDMI, according to your setting, then the TV will up-scale whatever it is to its native 4K.

You could set your favourites and whenever you opened the EPG, you got just your favourites unless you switched to the full EPG.
Yes, and there are custom firmware tweaks to make sure it sticks.

Last edited:
No. You have to choose what format you want on the HDMI output, although you can switch it with the VFORMAT button. Options are 1080p/i, 720p, 576p. Thus the HD-FOX up- or down-scales the broadcast appropriately on the HDMI, according to your setting, then the TV will up-scale whatever it is to its native 4K.