1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDD now not recognised on HD Fox T2?

Discussion in 'HD-FOX T2 Freeview Receiver' started by Colossae3.23, Feb 29, 2016.

1. Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23 New Member

Hi,

I have been recording to a 1TB HDD since late 2012, but yesterday the HD Fox T2, stopped seeing it. Tried unplugging and then a factory reset, but still no joy. The HDD was quite full, probably about 24MB left, but it has been fuller than this before and not had this problem.

Does anyone have any ideas on what to do. I really don't want to lose the files on the HDD, so I'm not keen on reformatting it. Besides, I can't format it anyway, because it doesn't show up on the list in Data Storage.

Thanks,
    Bill

2. af123

af123 Administrator Staff Member

Do you have the custom firmware installed? If so we will be able to talk you through getting in to the command line and running some diagnostics to see what's wrong.

3. Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23 New Member

No, I don't sorry. Can I move those files to a Win 10 laptop, then try to format the Ex. HDD to Ext3 again, and then move the files back on it?

I know I can't play these files on Windows, but can I move them, store them and reload the HDD?

4. Black Hole

Black Hole Felinos Guru

Yes, as long as you keep the .ts (video) file complete with its sidecar files (at least the .hmt, preferably the .nts as well).

Note that you might need to give Windows some help to access the Ext3-formatted drive.

Alternatively, if you feel intrepid, load custom firmware now and we'll see what can be done from the command line.

5. Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23 New Member

Think I'll try the custom firmware. Nothing to lose. Can you please point me to the instructions? I know I've seen them, but not sure where. Thanks

6. Black Hole

Black Hole Felinos Guru