Help: Check ‘n repair keeps reporting “Error at LBA 0”

Rich28

Hi, I’m new to custom firmware - I was having some problems with the machine and decided it was the best way to go. Anyway, I’ve enabled maintenance mode and ran ‘check and repair hard disk’, which informs:

“Error at LBA 0 Do you wish to attempt repair of the bad block? [Y/N]”

If I respond ‘Yes’ to this, the error message is repeated, and similarly it is repeated again, and again if I keep responding with a ‘YES’. If however, I respond with a ‘No’ the check and repair process continues. Please, can anyone advise if this is serious issue and what, if anything, can be done in terms of a fix.

It's not great. I would recommend you backup anything you want off the disk (if you can) and then have a read of this thread.
You may need a new disk if you can't resolve it.

I have used the security erase procedure referenced above, for a different reason, on a 500 GB Seagate Pipeline in a HDR-FOX successfully. A few points additional to the reference:

Install the 'hdparm' custom firmware package
Before booting to carry out the security erase, disconnect any USB flash/ hard drives: this will ensure that the drive you wish to erase is 'sda'
There is a spelling mistake in the 'hdparm' security erase command in the reference: it should be 'hdparm --security-erase PASSWD /dev/sda'
When you list the drive parameters with the 'hdparm -I /dev/sda' command it will say how long the erase procedure will take
When you issue the erase command (Telnet in maintenance mode), if you don't immediately get an error message it is probably working, but you might not get a message telling you that it has finished. I just left it an hour or so longer than the projected time to be safe, before rebooting and formatting the drive.

Last edited: