Recap Kit

Umpa

Sorry if this has been asked already.
My Humax Fox T2 DVR is having problems starting up, crashes regularly and the VFD is very dim.
Are there any recap kits available - I realise it will likely do nothing for the dim VFD but if I could just get it back to a reliable working state.

Thanks
Ump..

I could only google for it same as you might, I have no ready knowledge of such a thing. That said, I could probably compile a kit, if there were enough takers to make bulk purchase viable (and thus a reasonable price... and Farnell charges for delivery if the order is less than £40 ex VAT).

Something on my to-do list is to come up with an alternative PSU. Meanwhile, I might be able to supply you with a tested PSU (so long as it's not the RE version).

Are you sure it's the PSU causing the problem? Have you removed the orange filter from the VFD to make it more legible?

Steps for Resolving HDR-FOX Crash/Reboot Issues (click)

HDR-FOX Commissioning, Disassembly, Repair (click)

Thanks I will have to open it and take a look - I can't remember which version it is. I am not sure if it is the PSU, but it's getting very old and am willing to invest in a kit, I don't think it will do any harm.
Been thinking of getting a replacement off ebay to see if I can fix up first and practice on.
This might sound daft, but I don't actually use the Humax to watch and record TV, it's a headless system, that I program with the webif to record my shows using series record, and the footage is backed up to a NAS, and I then watch the recordings with a computer, because of this it may stay frozen not recording for weeks or months before I realise - this is very annoying.

I can't remember which version it is.
From the wiki:

Hardware Types

The Humax HDR-Fox T2 comes in two hardware revisions:

Original hardware with horizontal tuner sockets.
Can use any firmware version
HDR-rear-orig.png
RE hardware with vertical tuner sockets.
Can only use 1.03.xx firmware.
HDR-rear-re.png