FixDisk Results

Hi,
A routine run of fixDisk resulted in an error which is this, Error storing directory block information (inode=6754201, block=0), as such the HDD was not displaying the expected memory and would not format, does anyone have any ideas what is going on?.

Thanks for the reply, I am aware of this suggestion but have not applied it for I am not an expert and would not wish to make matters worse. I will wait to see what the boffins have to say firstly, thanks again.

If the filesystem is still readable it would be good to save any precious content before proceeding.

I couldn't see any sign in the Debian e2fsprogs changelog that Ted had implemented the check mentioned in the linked bug report, so it's entirely possible that the problem persists in the version of the package run by fixdisk.

You would have to apply the debugfs commands suggested by Ted in a Maintenance Mode telnet session. Or, as usual, if the disk can be removed to a desktop PC with a spare SATA slot or to a SATA-USB disk enclosure connected to a PC, it may be easier to run the commands and any further disk checks, maybe using a Linux live CD, and saving precious content could also be easier.

Thanks for the suggestion I will have a go at it, I do in fact run a Linux laptop so let's see what happens, also could you possibly say what does the listed error actually mean, does it mean that the system is ran short of inode space?

what does the listed error actually mean
Did you read the reference in post 2?
In fact it's a much more interesting problem. What happened was that
you got unlucky and trash got written into your inode table. One of
the inodes that got overwritten had the directory bit set, and the
extents flag was not set. So the i_blocks field was interpreted as
a series of blocks. Many of those i_blocks entries were garbage, and
were cleared, but the triple indirect block could be interpreted as a
valid block number, so we started iterating over all of the double