Humax - Ethernet Issue

Confused Humax

Hi. I’m brand new here with a problem hopefully some wizard can help with. My Humax is connected directly to my wireless router as it’s little over a metre away from it. I have used it without issue for several years.

Today for some reason when I tried to use iplayer, it came up with a message saying I need to connect to wifi. I went through the motions, it says it was connected yet nothing happens and it just puts me back into the menu.

I tried connecting to another port on the router in case it was the router connection that failed but nothing changed. Each time now I try to watch iplayer it suggests I’m not connected and need to connect and it just goes round in circles with nothing gained.

I searched here and found a thread that seems very much to be similar to my issue but I am not technically minded and cannot fathom out how to fix my issue. Hoping that someone can decipher the linked thread to tell me what I need to do.

Thanks

Ian

I think your fundamental problem might be that the iPlayer service is no longer compatible with old set-top boxes. Even if you did manage to get it to connect, you wouldn't be able to do anything with it.

My guess is that the firmware can't get a service and throws up a misleading error message (because it wasn't programmed anticipating this set of circumstances).

However, it should be quite straightforward to confirm your box does indeed have a network connection – just go into the settings and look at the IP address assigned for the LAN connection, then open a terminal in Windows (or whatever) and type "ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx" (replacing the x's with the IP address you looked up).

Last edited:
Today for some reason when I tried to use iplayer, it came up with a message saying I need to connect to wifi.
This is an issue that has various reports on the internet from a few days ago on Thursday.

A reported temporary fix described on the MyHumax site is
Anthony Jewell on MyHumax said: