In 2021 can you still play video files direct from webif

taking stick

I am a newbie and oldie in my 70's and can follow simple instructions. There are two video's on you tube which got my interest. One by Metieboy from 2012 where he plays SD files direct from webif. This is what I'd like to do, i.e. enter the ip address of my box into a search browser on my pad or phone and get the content to play. Now how do I do this. So I followed Retro Bristolean video posted this year. All worked fine until I tried using putty to remove protection from HD recordings. All I got was access denied. No matter I managed to download the correct file and upgraded my box using the USB method. I recorded something in HD and the protection tag had been removed. In the settings of the webif, I got a program to convert all my recordings so they said all converted. I don't know if that made any difference. I opened a recording in webfit and pressed play, nothing " plugin not supported." despite using the VLC plugin from Webfit and having VLC player on Windows 10 through Chrome. The way I got content to play is my by using Twonky media, and opening it up in VLC player on my desktop this works. So my question is has playback stopped working direct from webif , so you cannot get content to work on a pad or phone. Is somebody prepared to open webfit to prove me right or wrong. I downloaded Firefox, and got it to download and install VLC player add on's into it. I also did the same for Chrome, I disabled my VPN but no matter what I did, no files will play direct from the webif page. Other than downloading the whole file which takes some time, that file will play in my desktop VLC and it can be pulled into editing software. So I'm sort of 95% there. So is it as far as I will be able to go. What I'm after is to do what Metieboy did all those years ago. Another question in webif Service Management what programs should be switched on. I saw that Splash player got a mention, I have no idea how to g