MPEG Streamclip, Humax .ts files, and Mac OSX

Hummymac

Hi Guys,
Anyone know how to open Foxsat HDR Standard Definition .ts files in MPEG Streamclip .....on a Mac!?
I have an intel core 2 duo Macbook Pro running Snow leopard. I can download Foxsat HDR .ts SD files from an Ext3 partitioned HD and play them straight off with VLC but when I try to edit them in MPEG Streamclip (with the Apple MPEG-2 Playback component already installed) I immediately get "Error: unsupported file type". The MPS documentation claims .ts files are supported and specifically mentions the Humax 8000 as a supported device (whose file extensions I think may be .vid ?) Altering the Foxsat HDR .ts extensions to .vid 'appears' to make the files load but other than that they can not be recognised, converted or edited. Converting the .ts files first to MP4 with ffmpegX and then editing in MPS is possible and gives good results but it's all very tedious and time-consuming particularly to a complete newbie to video editing such as myself. Surely there must be a simpler, quicker, or more efficient way? The 'overviews' for the commercial software available for Macs do little to clarify whether any of them can handle Humax Foxsat HDR standard definition .ts files.Is there an easy solution to this problem? I just want to do a little simple editing (adverts etc.) preferably using MPEG Streamclip which otherwise I find excellent, or must I switch to commercial software, ... or Windows ...or a Topfield ....or all three! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Hummymac.
[I'm by no means an expert but this is what I've picked up]. ts files are a bit different to your normal video file. They contain extra error correction data to make them more robust to compensate for any interference while being transmitted.