T2 seems stuck

Ok. It now has an operating system FHTCP 1.01.09, loader version a7.30 80 BC.7E00. There is a big dominant sigb that says "The HDD storage must be formatted to use recording functions. Press OK to go to data storage menu." That eventually revealsa large page of a diagram, with a pie chart in the middle that says 0% available, I thing it says that elsewhere on the screen.
I have tried to record something by pressing the red button, and I get a white do not enter in the top right hand corner. I should say that the Installtion and Edit channels title is ungreyed now.
I should say that I am close to abandoning this as a viable project. Most of the advice that I have received here has been helpful, kind and appropriate, I should say though that, as a retired nurse, at seventy, I do not wear well being patronised. I struggled to download anything at all from the Wiki page, and Luke's clear download tab worked much better. I am not a computer expert, but I am not daft, and welcome any clear paths to sorting this wretched machine out.

I feel you. They don't know they are doing it( I hope). However, they DO KNOW stuff about the machine. From my limited experience, it sounds like the disk may be busted. Installing the "customised software" is as difficult as this: download file, unzip onto a usb stick, plug it in the humax, restart the box. I don't know if that can be done now on your machine, Someone might chip in.

Now that the simplest solution has been shown not to work for you, the appropriate next step is to install the custom firmware as suggested by PRPR earlier in post #9.
I struggled to download anything at all from the Wiki page
There is currently an issue with the normal download wiki page and there is a temporary substitute page with most of the main desirables available through it.
The temporary download page is
https://wiki.hummy.tv/wiki/Firmware_Downloads2