Virgin V6 copy recordings to laptop

JCM

Sorry for Posting in this thread but its my experience with my PVR 9200T that led me here and the fact that the first thing I noticed having come to this site was a post from Martin Liddle.
Years ago on the site Hummy.org Martin posted a very detailed hack of the 9200T involving tapping into the hard drive while in situe in the machine using ribbon cables and a small pcb to attach a usb lead that could then be plugged into a laptop to read copy and convert recordings.

Virgin are updating their V6 boxes to their 360 format (similar to sky Q) the problem is that all recorded programes will be lost during the upgrade. I'm no expert but I did manage to sucessfully follow Martins instructions with the 9200 and wonder if something similar can be done with the V6?

My reasoning is this, I tried to remove the hardrive and copy files I belive it is a linux system but still could not see the drive using a linux reader Ext2read which operates in windows without having to partition your own disk and load a unix op on your laptop. reading another thread it was suggested that the drive is somehow locked to the tv box which is why I couldnt read it.
So I wondered if it might be possible to keep the drive connected to the box using a similar method of tapping into the feed from the hardrive.

Any thoughts?

Many thanks Jason

reading another thread it was suggested that the drive is somehow locked to the tv box which is why I couldnt read it. So I wondered if it might be possible to keep the drive connected to the box using a similar method of tapping into the feed from the hardrive.

Any thoughts?
I'm sorry but you have a severe misconception. The PVR-9200 drive tap is purely for convenience, to save removing the HDD from the unit to access it externally. It does nothing which could not be done by removing the drive.