Old drive to new recorder

Status
Not open for further replies.

talos

Super Moderator
Staff member
My old 9200t is starting to fail on me so I have ordered a HDR-Fox T2 from Humax , I understand I can fit an external hard drive to it throu USB. My question is can I use the HD from the 9200 in a USB caddy so as to watch the recorded progs already on there, The faults on the old 9200 are I think not hard drive related so can the fox read files recorded on it. I am not technically adept though I can fit a drive or buts to a computer without much trouble.

Unfortunately I dont think its going to be that simple but I might be wrong. The 9200t does save its files as .TS but I dont think the Fox will play them without modification.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2

The 9200t does save its files as .TS but I dont think the Fox will play them without modification.
Sorry but that is wrong; it will play the files without modification. As Black Hole has pointed out, the difficulty is reading them from the drive and humaxrw is probably the easiest way. Thus may be a silly question but as humaxrw has a Linux version could it be compiled to run on the HDR?

Im sorry but most of those answers go over my head, a simple yes or no would suffice.

Any usage info?
There's a readme file within the Linux version. The only difference between the Linux and Windows versions is the method for accessing the Humax disks. On Linux it is /dev/sda, /dev/sdb etc., on Windows 0:, 1: etc.

One thing I forgot to test last night is whether or not the Humax app. will decide to spontaneously reformat the disk since it will not recognise it. I normally use disk image files to test the app.

Im sorry but most of those answers go over my head, a simple yes or no would suffice.
I would hold off for a day or so until I have had a chance to do some further testing. This is new territory, no-one has asked for it before.

Later... It seems OK.